Skip to Navigation

Norvik Press

Northern Constellations English and Nordic Modernisms The Scapegoat

Back | Books → The Meat-Grinder

The Meat-Grinder: and other stories | Buy Now

Runar Schildt

Translated by Anna-Lisa Murrell and Martin Murrell

ISBN-10: 1870041569     ISBN-13: 9781870041560

256 pages     RRP £9.95    paperback    2004    Series B No. 34

Runar Schildt (1888-1925) is one of Finland-Swedish literature's major figures, and one of Finland's finest short-story writers. This anthology brings together stories from the different stages of Schildt's career for the first time in English. The early period, when Schildt was regarded as an observer of decadence in Helsinki, is represented by 'Kairos', 'The Achilles Heel' and 'A New Life'. 'A Sparrow among Hawks', from 1915, tells of a boy's humiliation at a school dance. 'The Weaker One' (1918), regarded by many to be Schildt's masterpiece, is a precisely drawn, melancholic tale of adultery and deception.

Schildt's experience of the Finnish Civil War informs his later stories: the enigmatic tale of Aapo, a stable boy who takes the opportunity for revenge during the war; 'The Meat Grinder', a tragic story of gun-running; 'The Karamzinian Horse' tells of linguistic isolation in Helsinki. The final story in this volume, 'The Enchanted Forest' (1920), returns to the theme of betrayal in love, with the tale of a disillusioned and alienated author.

Find us on Facebook

Norvik Press Catalogue 2019
Download our latest Catalogue

Lagerlöf in English
Download details of our series Lagerlöf in English

The Meat-Grinder

The Meat-Grinder

Top of page

© 2020 Norvik Press Ltd · Department of Scandinavian Studies · University College London · Gower Street · London · WC1E 6BT

Website by Intexta