Skip to Navigation

Norvik Press

Banished The North as Home The Poet Who Created Herself

Back | Books → Moment of Freedom

Moment of Freedom | Buy Now

Jens Bjørneboe

Translated by Esther Greenleaf Mürer

ISBN-13: 9781909408371

224 pages     RRP £11.95    paperback    2017    Series B No. 25

This is the first volume of a trilogy which marks the high point of outspokenness and originality of one of Norway's most controversial modern writers. Jens Bjørneboe was an author and polemicist of fierce energy and deep conviction, who throughout his career provoked and upset the establishment by his unrelenting attacks on its most sacred cows: a repressive school system, a hypocritical Christianity, an inhumane prison system, power-seeking politicians, corrupt police and depraved moral guardians - all concentrated in his particular bête noire: the authoritarian personality.

With this trilogy, Bjørneboe turned his attention to a more general problem: the evil inherent in the human race itself. Why, his narrators ask despairingly, does man behave so inhumanely to his fellow creatures? The first volume is set in a middle-European principality, where the narrator is a servant of justice, employed to brush gowns and fill inkwells, and to be daily witness to injustice masquerading as a court of law. The experience sets him off on an odyssey through human experience and his own past, asking what went wrong with mankind.

Find us on Facebook

Norvik Press Catalogue 2019
Download our latest Catalogue

Lagerlöf in English
Download details of our series Lagerlöf in English

Moment of Freedom

Moment of Freedom

Top of page

© 2021 Norvik Press Ltd · Department of Scandinavian Studies · University College London · Gower Street · London · WC1E 6BT

Website by Intexta