Skip to Navigation

Norvik Press

Studies in Strindberg Fru Inés Tschandala

BooksBrowseAuthor → Jens Bjørneboe

Books by Jens Bjørneboe

The Sharks
ISBN: 9781909408128
Moment of Freedom Trilogy
ISBN: 9781870041539
ISBN: 9781870041423
The Silence
ISBN: 9781870041454
Moment of Freedom
ISBN: 9781870041416
The Sharks
ISBN: 9781870041201
Find us on Facebook

Norvik Press Catalogue 2017
Download our latest Catalogue

Lagerlöf in English
Download details of our series Lagerlöf in English

Special Feature

Jens Bjørneboe's MOMENT OF FREEDOM, translated by Esther Greenleaf Mürer

Jens Bjørneboe: The Trilogy

Jens Bjørneboe's Moment of Freedom (1966), Powderhouse (1969) and The Silence (1974) marked the high point of a controversial literary career. Since the early 1950s this Norwegian iconoclast had been making life difficult for the establishment, attacking its repressive schools, inhumane prisons, corrupt police and power-hungry politicians. Now Bjørneboe turned his attention to a more general problem: the evil inherent in the human race itself. Why, his narrators ask despairingly, does man behave so inhumanely to his fellow creatures?

Top of page

© 2017 Norvik Press Ltd · Department of Scandinavian Studies · University College London · Gower Street · London · WC1E 6BT

Website by Intexta